History & Mission
St. John the Evangelist Church was founded in 1875, it was part of a farming community. The parishioners had a dream, to provide a Catholic school for the children of the parish and a convent to house the Sisters who would teach them.September of 1961 saw the long envisioned dream realized and a long awaited goal achieved. The parish was happy to welcome three Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary from Scranton, Pennsylvania!
St. John the Evangelist School opened officially on September 7, 1961 with grades one through four, although the formal dedication of the new buildings did not take place until November 16, 1961. Archbishop O’Boyle was the one that officiated at the ceremonies which were attended by visiting clergy, Sisters and many loyal parishioners.Initially the school only had four classes, and each successive year, another grade was added until all grades up to and including eighth grade made up the extent of the school’s classes. The first class graduated at a special mass on June 4, 1966.
The mission of St. John the Evangelist Parish School is to be a respectful Catholic environment where the invitation to become citizen-disciples of Jesus Christ is manifested in its learners and teachers.Formed through a spirit of trust and cooperation, we are dedicated to religious formation, academic achievement, and appropriate social development. In all we do, we celebrate the unique gift of God in each person and strive to capture the dream of God for all who make up the community of St. John’s School.